“Letting Go” of 2009

Letting Go #20

It’s time to release this year’s theme as the last strains of “Auld Lang Syne” fade from the atmosphere along with the champagne bubbles. My “nine” year draws to a close, finding me a lot lighter in material possessions, lonelier in the animal companion department, and about five pounds heavier in girth.

Unfortunately, holiday goodies called my name and I answered big time. Plus, before Christmas my husband found himself a local family-owned candy business that wants to adopt him (move over Russell Stover). Candy the size of your fist — yes, I exaggerate but their gargantuan cream-filled bonbons are the kind I remember from my youth — a full meal.

Yep, I’m teetering on the brink of my nine-month pregnancy weight, and I don’t like the looks of that at all. So, I know–I’LL GO ON A DIET FOR MY THEME NEXT YEAR!

Along with five billion other well-meaning stagnate souls? Sorry. Not going to happen.

Although I do wish to FEEL better in 2010, work on health issues and just get comfortable in my own skin. After all, I will be turning the big Half Century this coming year. The rest of my life looks like the giant jigsaw puzzle my family works on during holiday break at the dining room table.

At least my dining room table is clear enough to spread out a zillion pieces (thanks to Hoarders on A&E)!

As for 2010 and the numerology number 10, which represents completion, closure (and in a word, my husband) there is no way I’m even close to that level. I prefer the numerology version of addition known as 1 + 0 = 1. One is defined as willpower, optimism and energy.

Next year, I’m gonna need ‘em.

Happy New Year to you, all the same!

Leave a Reply

