A Minimalist Moment: Organization–Do You Need It?

This is not a trick question, although it may turn into one (you never know around here). Ever since there has been more than one thing, this situation must be addressed.

Ever since nomads had to separate the little goats from the big goats for better accounting, or pirates needed to keep track of their buried treasure, or Monty Python grouped various livestock according to impact for the cow catapult, there has been a need for organization of some sort.

See. It’s been going on a long, long time.

My answer? It depends.

Organization is all well and good as long as it isn’t an excuse to keep stuff you don’t need.

I’ll admit that occasionally I falter on the simple path and gaze longingly at the Container Store website with its sexy rows of cubes and bins that stack (oh my!). And I’ve always been a sucker for Ikea’s minimalistic storage units glowing with the luster of European neat freak.

But wouldn’t it be better to NOT own the silly bits that wait to be corralled into those lovely temples of spontaneous shopping weakness, in the first place?

Of course, there are moments, albeit minimal ones. I happen to possess a fair collection of earrings (they ARE small and in pairs which my inner ark loves). For others it could be toe rings, or nose apparatus. Whatever.

I have arranged my earrings in the best storage container for jewelry OF ALL TIME — a clear plastic fishing tackle box with wonderful little units you can make bigger or smaller, depending on your whim.

I can’t take credit for this brilliant idea, but I forget which organizing show sent me running to the nearest fishing aisle of the local superstore. Just know that somewhere out there is a genius who figured this out. Maybe while fishing. Or watching the Red Green show.

So, every morning when I am stumbling around trying to get ready for work or cat patrol, you will not find me rummaging in an antiquated jewelry box with a twirling ballerina on top, yanking on a tangle of mismatched French wires, bangle bracelets and the occasional orphan crackerjack ring.

Instead, my beauties are proudly displayed in their neat little cubicles, perfectly matched and judiciously separated from the other jewelry riffraff.

And with just the right bobber, always ready for when the fish are biting.

Want More? Check out my other Minimalist Moments:

Hobbling the Hobbies

Out of the Closet

Houseplant Hoarding

The Mail Monster

Leave a Reply

