Photo Friday: Dining Alone

This year I’ve decided to join the 365 Project on Flickr. There are many variations, but the main goal is to take one photo a day for 2011. As usual, I was a late starter, beginning on the 20th of January (I’m always wary of commitment). And I worried that I would run out of ideas. But, so far I’ve enjoyed the discipline while paying attention to the everyday beauty around me — yes, even in the suburbs.

So, I thought I’d start posting a photo every Friday, a tasty bit from my week of daily photos. This week, I’m focusing on the simplicity of my seldom-used dining room. It consists of a table (covered by a tablecloth to prevent my cat from carving his initials in the top), four chairs and a bench against the wall for setting aside extra dishes at a meal. As you can see, there are no stacks of papers, mail catalogs, sewing projects or jigsaw puzzles cluttering the surfaces.

The only decoration needed is a candle in a hurricane holder (with fingerprints), and the play of afternoon sunlight, free of charge.

Until next Friday. . . .

4 thoughts on “Photo Friday: Dining Alone

    1. suburbansatsangs

      Thank you, Adriene. I’m trying to branch out a little more with different media. (And it helps tell a story when the words don’t come so easily.) And I promise not to post too many pictures of my toenails. 🙂

  1. It might be difficult at first, but taking photos on a daily basis will be fun and rewarding – I did it for over four years straight! Check it out here: Smash TV, Have Adventures on Blipfoto. I’ve stopped doing a daily photo since January of this year due to my busy schedule and lack of quality photos (and kind of regret the decision to do that), but I still take photos as often as I can! Good luck with your project!! 😀

    1. suburbansatsangs

      Hi Laura! Wow, four years of a daily photo. That’s impressive. I checked out your collection on Blipfoto–a great way to display pictures. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

