If You Had Only

DSCN5056

come when I called
on a snowy night
too late to be casual

instead you admired
another’s reflection
in transparent doorways
passing to adulthood

while I struggled
to fulfill your fantasies
of a good girl in
a dark place

I burn through thirty
years toward reunion and
see there is no change
now yet still wish

you’d felt the same

#NaPoWriMo #12

I’m writing a poem every day in April as part of NaPoWriMo’s celebration of National Poetry Month. We may be able to live without poetry, but who would want to?

3 thoughts on “If You Had Only

    1. I almost didn’t publish this one, but I let it go. And then after posting, I realized it was a confessional like the prompt for the day, but was too tired to make the connection last night. Thanks for the support, Adriene.

      1. I often have those trepidations, but letting go is good, I think! Any resemblance in my poems to the NaPo prompts is coincidental as I haven’t been following them, but it’s funny how that happens.

Leave a Reply

