Is This Gandalf’s Hat?

DSCN6056
Wasn’t it just yesterday that I lay in an unraveling hammock of slow southern heat, deep in the mysteries of dwarven kingdoms and hobbit holes and Gollum’s riddles? Fires from a merciless afternoon sun lasered through the roof of twin Norway maples, to singe me with the kiss of Smaug while my book split open across my knees.

To this day, I wander in search of entrance back to Rivendell, resting under middle earth’s translucent banners dusted with dormant magic, while I raise my eyes to the same innocent blue of a child’s forgotten world.

From there I can feel my bare feet padding down old paths, knowing the way.

8 thoughts on “Is This Gandalf’s Hat?

  1. At the risk of sounding gushy, I must say this is incredible. I love the tight interplay between literature and life — and especially the last sentence, the walk-off. Wow. I don’t know what inspiration brought the delphinium into this, but it was sure a brilliant one. Though there is melancholy, it is still uplifting. Thanks!

    1. Ah, Maureen, I am fond of the walk-off. Perhaps too much, but I can’t resist. We just watched the new Hobbit movie and it struck me the other day that the delphiniums looked just like the hat Gandalf wears (at least in my warped mind). So I took the theme from there. Plus, I’ve been thinking a lot about my childhood summers on the farm and the books I read. Glad it is not too maudlin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

