Love Poem to a Watering Can

DSCN1697
The rose of your spout blooms
with life-giving torrents for me,
your capacity for care overflows.
Across the years, there have been
others, bright young things without
your rust or dings, but they never
last. Even when your tired handle
fell to pieces, I gladly gave up my
tender hands to a callous that fits
only you. Throughout love’s droughts,
I will carry your galvanized spirit with
me always, to the gardens of my
heart, where no hose can reach.

NaPoWriMo #7

*This (er) homage was inspired by NaPoWriMo’s Day 7 prompt and an old blog post from 2011. Today’s mission was to write a love poem to an inanimate object, and I knew immediately that it could only be for my long-time gardening companion.

I’m writing a poem every day in April as part of NaPoWriMo’s celebration of National Poetry Month. Won’t you join me in poetry?

8 thoughts on “Love Poem to a Watering Can

  1. I too hope your watering can appreciates it! Another great start to my day. Not only with “the rose of your spout” and “galvanized spirit” (groan), but the photo itself! It brought back memories, dings included. Any gardener will understand the giving over of the “tender hand” to an accommodating callous for the sake of an old love. Now I am more impatient than ever to get to the garden!

  2. I just got my favorite watering cans out last weekend, and you’ve expressed my feelings perfectly! I will be repeating your words in my mind this summer as I carry their galvanized spirits where no hose can reach.

Leave a Reply

