Collected Lives

Spiritual collection

all of these are gifts: petal rose
quartz from my closest loves, an angel
encased with a daughter’s hug, kokopelli
welcoming this luscious spring, a healing
stone for the heart in green tourmaline,
the quartz crystal that spoke to me in a new
age store, a friend’s petrified wood during her
travels galore, and a smoky quartz cluster
from faraway–for a great-grandfather’s shelf,
resting upon my grandmother’s tray.

NaPoWriMo #10

*The closest I will come to rhyming poetry.

I’m writing a poem every day in April as part of NaPoWriMo’s celebration of National Poetry Month. Won’t you join me in poetry?

6 thoughts on “Collected Lives

  1. Collected Lives — oh, yes. What a touching way to say that. “Collected” implies a deliberateness which is typical of a poet, I think. Poets collect and arrange. The words are artifacts, too. The poem like the tray which holds those lives.

    The rhyme is very subtle. I did not hear it at first. Poets can be sneaky too.

    Thanks for the reminder of what’s worth keeping.

    1. I’m relieved that you thought the rhyme subtle, Maureen. I thought it blared like a Dr. Seuss book (which are marvelous by the way) only hokier. This everyday poetry gig helps me become more comfortable with rhyme and cadence.

Leave a Reply

