Notes from a treehouse

Squirrel world

(for earth day) 

From up here

it’s a mess man

roads spreading

like varicose

veins waterways

disappear under

spells of filmy

amnesia forgetting

their source drought

and icy apathy

when trees fall

cutting off our food

supply while below

neighbors’ cats

want kickbacks

every week we

hear a thump on

the street and

one of us doesn’t

come back

I just want to

stay inside my

penthouse rustling

leaves chattering

with woodpeckers

but still I will

come down if

there’s a chance

that all can

be saved.

NaPoWriMo #22

I’m writing a poem every day in April as part of NaPoWriMo’s celebration of National Poetry Month. Won’t you join me in poetry?

4 thoughts on “Notes from a treehouse

  1. Soliloquy of a squirrel. This is awesome. And it so exactly flows from the photo. I do love the line “It’s a mess, man.” That’s what his expression seems to say. I think his grouse about the kickbacks to the cats is hilarious.

    I must observe, however, that the squirrels out your way seem to have a death wish. They really need to make up their minds about which side of the road they want to be on BEFORE they get to the middle.

    1. I’ve noticed the squirrel indecision, too. It’s really picked up this year. Hope the long skinny form wasn’t too annoying, but I couldn’t help myself. May your driving be squirrel-free the rest of the week, Maureen!

    1. Thanks Adriene! Getting inside a squirrel’s head was a little scary, but worth it! Yes, let’s hope the penthouse can be saved. They were working on it today as I watched from the backyard.

Leave a Reply

