Shadow of My Former Self

shadowlands

If you look closely

there I am, right next

to my lost potential,

to the left of intuition

and reliance on my

elders’ sage advice,

farther along a cloudy

path of complete

resistance than I

anticipated, my fears

almost visible to the

naked eye but not

quite, holding hope’s

heart in my cupped

hands until the sun sets

and I fade into twilight.

#NaPoWriMo #27

I’m writing a poem every day in April as part of NaPoWriMo’s celebration of National Poetry Month. Won’t you join me in poetry?

4 thoughts on “Shadow of My Former Self

  1. Karuni

    I don’t know if this is a universal experience or not, but this poem spoke to me as ;oudly as if it wERE me. Nice. they’ve all been nice, and more!

    1. Thanks, Karuni. The words for this one just flowed out, and at first, I didn’t know what half of it meant. Over time, I’m beginning to understand what that shadow is saying; I guess you might call it shadow work. I’m glad that you found some meaning in it–makes it all worthwhile.

  2. Wow. How beautifully presented. I don’t know if this is a universal experience either, but I suspect it is as we get older.

    “…farther along a cloudy path of complete resistance than I anticipated..” is reason to celebrate as we grow into being our own persons. You’ve accomplished both melancholy and hope in this, and it’s as delicate as the shadow. Again, remarkable wordcraft.

    1. It’s interesting that my husband thought it was very sad, and I saw hope in it. You’ve found both, and I suppose that’s what life entails. And this is all about age–I couldn’t have written this when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

