Ambiguous

DAY 14: HANDS
DAY 14: HANDS

One of the roles of Facebook, I suppose, is to inform you about each particular day’s national celebration of whatever. Today is evidently National Left Handers Day, which seemed to go hand in hand with my August Break topic of “hands.” Perhaps it was intentional.

Let me start by saying that I am not a lefty. My dominant right performs all the standard functions such as holding a writing utensil, or a paint brush, or gesturing when the moment seems appropriate. But there are some activities that are likely to be done with the left or what I’ve always come to view as the more intuitive hand: I weed with my left while holding a gardening tool in my right, the left is always the one to open a stubborn jar lid as the right holds onto the jar for dear life, and I tend to reach with the left more often than the right (just in case the left gets bitten, I still have the right as backup).

Political affiliations aside, I try to give both hands equal opportunities, lest one of them goes on strike. But, unfortunately, it’s still a right-hand world. In honor of the lefties out there, I lift my glass to you, left-handed, of course. Cheers!

This month I’m taking a photo a day and following the topics of Susannah Conway’s August Break 2014. And why don’t you join me? I double-dog dare you!

2 thoughts on “Ambiguous

Leave a Reply

