Portrait of an Alien

DAY 19: BLACK + WHITE
DAY 19: BLACK + WHITE

Mushroom, toadstool, fungi, whatever you call them, they are out there. Ready to appear without warning, overnight, ghostly forms shrouded in early mists on the parade grounds, silently frozen in formation around their enchanted fairy circles, enticing hapless humans into the center of their earthly spells, poised to unfurl the umbrellas of their caps in exploration of a new world above ground, hoping to report to the mycelium mothership down below.

Whoever is reckless enough to kick, swipe, hack and fling those white scouts of an ancient solar system around the lawn better beware.

You don’t want to make the terrestrials mad.

This month I’m taking a photo a day and following the topics of Susannah Conway’s August Break 2014. And why don’t you join me? I double-dog dare you!

6 thoughts on “Portrait of an Alien

  1. Mycelium mothership??!!! This is inspired! I laughed when I saw the title, and was stopped completely by the photo, which is wonderful. Thanks for energizing my morning!

  2. This is your funniest one yet! i admit I am not reading in order and haven’t opened some yet.
    …Sooooo much mail but I’ve liked them all.You have a real talent.

  3. As an alien and a mushroom-lover, I felt I had to stop by and briefly touch down in the fairy ring of this wonderful post, before taking off again without having harmed a single spore of the circle’s heads.

Leave a Reply

