Morning Mists

DAY 26: MORNING
DAY 26: MORNING

The parade grounds of our old army fort nearby remind me so much of my historic college campus back east. The massive oaks and maples enveloping colonial red brick hover along the edges of memory’s mist, and for a moment, it is move-in day of my freshman year, a scared newbie trudging down the mossy dark stairs of the registrar’s office to pay my (tiny to today’s standards) tuition and board, lining up for my college ID, and clutching a class schedule that would lead me into the morning.

This month I’m taking a photo a day and following the topics of Susannah Conway’s August Break 2014. And why don’t you join me? I double-dog dare you!

4 thoughts on “Morning Mists

  1. Morning in more ways than one: that huge, cosmically lonely morning that begins college. You sure brought back that feeling. That’s a beautiful photo. Memory’s mist….yes, indeed.

  2. Shirah

    My sister and family lived in one of those officers quarters lining the parade ground. It’s nice you’re living on or near a place with so much history.

Leave a Reply

