Look what’s coming to dinner

DAY 28: SOMETHING NEW
DAY 28: SOMETHING NEW

“What’s new?” could be the overwhelming question of the year for me, especially this August. Everything is a first: new food, new diet, new cooking equipment, new kitchen, new living arrangements, new lifestyle, new world. I am nothing if not adaptable, but I may be taking things a little too far this time. Still, when I stop long enough to savor these unknown territories, I’m impressed with the view.

Take these colors for example! Oh, the beauty of food in its purest form is always a wholesome revelation that I need pounded into my stubborn brain (and spooned into my mouth) every few months. I gaze at all those vibrant reds, yellows, oranges and purples, the source of my newfound health on parade, not to mention those multitudes of greens. I’m learning to be unafraid of exotic produce, to march right up to them and twist their little hats off, to peel them out of their skins, to slice them thinly and bathe them in coconut milk and olive oil, then toast them until they surrender to the touch.

The stove may be a battlefield, but there upon the dinner plate this will always be their finest hour.

This month I’m taking a photo a day and following the topics of Susannah Conway’s August Break 2014. And why don’t you join me? I double-dog dare you!

2 thoughts on “Look what’s coming to dinner

  1. I love the sense of discipline and attack in this — I do believe that your new surrounds are influencing you. Your approach to exotic produce is vaguely military. And artistic too! Maybe that’s what’s happening in this brave new world of yours: the wedding of two opposing instincts that aren’t opposing after all.

    1. You’re right, Maureen, maybe the old fort is rubbing off on me. I would like to harness that military sense of order in my creative schedule. The writing is perking along, but now I need to dust off the art, soon. Perhaps another September challenge involving art is in the works. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

