Easter Hunt

IMG_4663

On the day
we moved
I finally
found my
purple
jelly bean
you hid in
plain view.

April Love Prompt: My Favorite Color

This year I’m celebrating National Poetry Month by combining  NaPoWriMo’s daily poetry challenge with Susannah Conway’s April Love daily photo prompts on Instagram. Each day of April, you will observe the same photo in my Instagram feed on the righthand sidebar that you see in my blog post along with an instapoem. We shall find out at the end of the month whether this was a brilliant career move, sheer laziness or a fool’s errand. 

Until then, care to join me in these creative waters where even fools fear to tread? The water’s fine.

4 thoughts on “Easter Hunt

  1. There’s a story in this short poem, and another wonderful photo. I never would have guessed that one purple jelly bean would be so interesting, and I especially enjoy those overlapping shadows.

    1. I’m always amused at how the eye can become so used to what it sees everyday, that until you take the scene apart, you won’t notice what is hidden there. It happens with pictures on the wall, especially.

  2. Bonny has it exactly right: there’s more than meets the eye. “Plain view” is a slippery concept, as the shadows show. The eye of the poet is different, though, which this proves.

Leave a Reply

