IKEA 

IMG_4667

You make me

want to

stroke

sit

lean

lie

recline

and buy

everything

in the store.

April Love Prompt: Touch

This year I’m celebrating National Poetry Month by combining  NaPoWriMo’s daily poetry challenge with Susannah Conway’s April Love daily photo prompts on Instagram. Each day of April, you will observe the same photo in my Instagram feed on the righthand sidebar that you see in my blog post along with an instapoem. We shall find out at the end of the month whether this was a brilliant career move, sheer laziness or a fool’s errand. 

Until then, care to join me in these creative waters where even fools fear to tread? The water’s fine.

4 thoughts on “IKEA 

  1. I have never been in an Ikea but your words make it sound enticing, and the photo makes me wish I could actually touch that lovely wooly texture and bury my fingers in its loopy whorls.

    1. IKEA has been villified as one of those cheap fiberboard box stores, but I have always admired the company’s economy in cost and design, and attention to detail. It makes such a difference to be able to see the merchandise in a room that you can walk in, sit down and experience. I wish more stores would share this practice. It truly helps visualize what will work in your own space.

  2. Oh, that white stuff! As soon as I saw it, I had such an urge to reach out and curl my fingers into it — what a great photo for “Touch.” Your poem is a testimonial to how well IKEA works!

Leave a Reply

