Nostalgia

DSCN3637

Do

the ones

I’ve

planted

and

left behind

still

remember

me?

April Love Prompt: Yellow

This year I’m celebrating National Poetry Month by combining  NaPoWriMo’s daily poetry challenge with Susannah Conway’s April Love daily photo prompts on Instagram. Each day of April, you will observe the same photo in my Instagram feed on the righthand sidebar that you see in my blog post along with an instapoem. We shall find out at the end of the month whether this was a brilliant career move, sheer laziness or a fool’s errand. 

Until then, care to join me in these creative waters where even fools fear to tread? The water’s fine.

6 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. Shirah Eliashiv

    I’ve been enjoying each and every one of your lovely poems and images. I had to respond to this one, however, because you really touched something deep within. It’s true. All those gardens I’ve – we’ve – planted, nurtured, loved and left behind. Both literally and metaphorically.

    Shirah

  2. Shirah said it exactly: touching something deep within. There is a real grief in this and yet unmistakable joy-of-the-moment. What a commentary on contrast: grief is transient but daffodils are forever. Or is it the other way around?

    A really beautiful coming together of image and words.

  3. Interesting question and beautiful photo. I’m not sure about daffodils’ memories, but I do know that people who plant daffodils are remembered by others who get to enjoy their blooms decades later. My neighbor and I were just talking about the woman who planted many of the daffodils at their house 75-80 years ago, and I think of my husband’s grandmother every time I look at the daffodils and tulips she originally planted 50 years ago.

Leave a Reply

