Essence

DSCN4072

You know me by
the sweet mown
meadow beds and
spiced ribbons cut
deep into farm fields,
musty dreams found
in glue-bound books
and fresh breezes on
notebook paper lined
for learning, potent
pollen burned off the
prairie cottonwoods
that mingles with a
molten molasses at
backyard barbecues,
newly minted creeks
rising through dank
mideast forests, and
the talcum powder
peace residing inside
my grandmother’s
dresser drawer.

April Love Prompt: My Scent

This year I’m celebrating National Poetry Month by combining  NaPoWriMo’s daily poetry challenge with Susannah Conway’s April Love daily photo prompts on Instagram. Each day of April, you will observe the same photo in my Instagram feed on the righthand sidebar that you see in my blog post along with an instapoem. We shall find out at the end of the month whether this was a brilliant career move, sheer laziness or a fool’s errand. 

Until then, care to join me in these creative waters where even fools fear to tread? The water’s fine.

5 thoughts on “Essence

  1. This is amazing. It is thoroughly sensual but those first three words make it transcendent. From the molten molasses to the newly minted creeks you have created a remarkable self-portrait through fragrance. I hate to sound gushy, but I do think this is a wonderful piece.

    1. I really got into this little poem, Maureen, so it became more than an instapoem, and took twice as long to create. But I wanted to get it just right, and I’m very happy that you like it.

  2. Of all the things to describe, scent seems to me to be one of the most difficult. “Essence” is truly wonderful and incredibly evocative. Congratulations on one of your best pieces yet.

Leave a Reply

