Cross-eyed

family_photos

When I was very
small I couldn’t see
any sharp-kneed
truths inside the
dark forest planted
by grownup legs, or
dim familial views
offered out of high
windows shaded with
long-held secrets.

All I remember
were those bright
celestial stars down
the hallway to where we
come from, refracted
into a billion
diamonds.

April Love Prompt: When I Was Small

This year I’m celebrating National Poetry Month by combining  NaPoWriMo’s daily poetry challenge with Susannah Conway’s April Love daily photo prompts on Instagram. Each day of April, you will observe the same photo in my Instagram feed on the righthand sidebar that you see in my blog post along with an instapoem. We shall find out at the end of the month whether this was a brilliant career move, sheer laziness or a fool’s errand. 

Until then, care to join me in these creative waters where even fools fear to tread? The water’s fine.

8 thoughts on “Cross-eyed

  1. The viewpoints were so different (and confusing!) when we were small. Your eyes are so big and inquisitive in the photo, perhaps to better see the bright celestial stars?

    1. I always wanted to be in on the action when I was little, even though I couldn’t see what was going on until they decided that I needed glasses. Those big eyes were very myopic. I certainly picked up on the emotions, though. Thanks, Bonny.

  2. Whoa. To think that those big eyes were not seeing well! But the wheels behind them were turning furiously.

    This is a wonderful description of childhood, even with its dark implications. Another perfect pairing of image and text.

Leave a Reply

