Tall Tale

IMG_0300
Day 2: Air

Well lookie there, that’s a tree growing in thin air on top of the clock tower at the courthouse.  And I’m sure there’s a story to go with it. #sundaydrive

Yes, folks, it’s that time of year again. I’m looking forward to my third go at participating in Susannah Conway’s August Break by posting prompts here on the blog and on my Instagram account. There are no rules, really. Simply take a photo every day for the month of August, based on the prompts or not. I take a photo a day all year long, but you can’t lose no matter how many days you keep this up. And the more, the merrier!

8 thoughts on “Tall Tale

  1. Greensburg, Indiana, I believe. The tree in their courthouse roof was a minor tourist attraction when I was a boy and we were going down from Porter County to visit my grandparents in Terre Haute. Well, not the same tree I suppose. That peculiar triple-arch facade on the roof to the left of the clock tower is more puzzling than the tree. I wonder if there could be a bunch of seedlings behind it.

    1. You are correct, Mike! There are various versions of how many trees there have been and how they came to be there, starting in the 1870s, but this one is a mulberry, most likely planted by birds (in a manner of speaking). And I agree that the triple-arch is a bit odd. Maybe the trees were planted to keep us from noticing.

Leave a Reply

