The Scent of Love

IMG_0311
Day 14: Favorite Smell

As a child I wanted to smell everything — and that got pretty interesting living on a farm. My memories are defined by the Opium perfume my mother wore and the Jean Nate talcum powder in my grandmother’s bathroom. But now most commercial products make me ill, so I have turned to subtle oils for my scent. And it comes as no surprise that my favorite smell is Love.

Yes, folks, it’s that time of year again. I’m looking forward to my third go at participating in Susannah Conway’s August Break by posting prompts here on the blog and on my Instagram account. There are no rules, really. Simply take a photo every day for the month of August, based on the prompts or not. I take a photo a day all year long, but you can’t lose no matter how many days you keep this up. And the more, the merrier!

4 thoughts on “The Scent of Love

  1. I loved the image of the sniffer on the farm! Amazing how deep the memories from things sniffed. Very nice family history in this vignette.

    1. It’s amazing how strongly smell is linked with memory. It took me years to track down my mother’s perfume, but I walked into a store one day, and there it was in the air, lingering.

  2. highlyreasonable

    Scent can take you back so quickly. Opium and Jean Nate are distinctive; for me it’s my grandmothers’ scents of Evening in Paris and White Shoulders.

Comments are closed.